Chapter Books

Grades 1-3

 
 

Dory Fantasmagory: Head in the Clouds

By Abby Hanlon

2018- Dial Books

This book is the fourth in the Dory Fantasmagory series

Dory Fantasmagory has her first loose tooth, and, with her over-the-top excitement, she cannot stop talking about the tooth fairy! Naturally, this drives her brother and sister crazy. But it also sparks a serious jealous streak in her nemesis, Mrs. Gobble Gracker, who wants all of Dory's attention to herself. But Mrs. Gobble Gracker has decided to steal the tooth fairy's job. It's up to Dory to come up with a serious plan to get the tooth fairy her job back! Full of imagination and laughs on every page, join Dory and her pals, real and imaginary, for a great adventure.

Keywords: Comedy, Humor, Imaginary Friends, Imagination, Siblings, Tooth Fairy 

 

The World's Worst Teachers

By David Walliams

2019- HarperCollins Publishers

Think your teachers are bad? Wait till you meet this lot! These ten tales of the world’s most splendidly sinister teachers will have you running for the school gates. Dr. Dread teaches science and is half man, half monster… Watch out for the ghastly Miss Seethe. She is ALWAYS furious – and she’s on a detention rampage. And as for Mr Phobe, he is bone-shakingly terrified of… children! This delightfully dreadful collection of tales is perfect for fans of Sideways Stories from Wayside School. 

Keywords: Class, Comedy, Funny, Grades, Humor, School, Students, Teachers, Weird

 

13-Story Treehouse: Monkey Mayhem

By Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton

2011- Square Fish Publishing

This book is part of the Treehouse series

Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. But not just any old treehouse! This treehouse has thirteen stories, a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, and a secret underground laboratory. Life would be perfect for Andy and Terry if it wasn't for the fact that they have to write their next book, which is almost impossible because there are just so many distractions: flying cats, giant bananas, sea monsters pretending to be mermaids, and more! With a fun mix of words and pictures, this is the strangest and funniest book-about-writing-a-book that you will ever read!

Keywords: Animals, Birds, Cats, Comedy, Drawing, Humor, Illustrating, Imagination, Monkeys, Play, Treehouse, Trees, Writing

 

Danger! Tiger Crossing

By Lin Oliver

2016- Grosset & Dunlap

This book is apart of the Fantastic Frame Series.

When ten-year-old Tiger Brooks and his family move into a new home, he sees some strange things at the house next door—like a talking pig in a top hat! When he and his neighbor, Luna Lopez, investigate, they discover a mysterious old woman and her magical golden frame, through which they can enter the world's greatest paintings. They are soon pulled into the Tiger in a Tropical Storm by Henri Rousseau, but they must escape the jungle adventure before time runs out, otherwise they'll be trapped in the painting forever!

Keywords: Adventure, Art, Friendship, Magic, Neighbours, Painting

 

A True Home

By Kallie George

2017- Disney-Hyperion

This book is apart of the Heartwood Hotel Series.

When Mona the Mouse stumbles across the wondrous world of the Heartwood Hotel in the middle of a storm, she desperately hopes they'll let her stay. As it turns out, Mona is precisely the maid they need at the grandest hotel in Fernwood Forest, where animals come from far and wide for safety, luxury, and comfort. But the Heartwood Hotel is not all acorn souffle and soft moss-lined beds. Danger lurks, and as it approaches, Mona finds that this hotel is more than a warm place to spend the night. It might also be a home.

Keywords: Animals, Autumn, Forests, Friendship, Home, Hotels, Mice, Trees

 

Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things

By Lenore Look

2008- Random House

This book is apart of the Alvin Ho series.

Alvin Ho is an Asian American second grader who is afraid of everything—elevators, tunnels, girls, and, most of all, school. He’s so afraid of school that, while he’s there, he never, ever, says a word. But at home he’s a very loud superhero named Firecracker Man, a brother to Calvin and Anibelly, and a gentleman-in-training, so he can be just like his dad. Can Alvin overcome his fear of everything to make a friend?

Keywords: Asian Americans, Confidence, Friendship, Humor, Overcoming Fear, School, Shyness, Superheroes